News


For more news and articles about CFA Phoenix, please click here.



Step into Spring - Blue Cross Blue Shield Walking Works Program

Posted On: 2016-03-10 12:03 PM

Blue Cross Blue Shield Walking Works

Walking & Physical Activity Challenge "Step Into Spring 2016"

Sponsored by EdKey's Health and Wellness Committee March 28, 2016 - May 9, 2016 www.walkingworks.com
  1. Create a team of 1-10 members and establish team leader & teamname.
  2. Team leader reports team name to your Wellness Coordinator by March 24th (see the list below)
  3. Register online under your team name by March 28th
  4. Begin logging activity on March 28th
  5. All employees eligible to participate, not only BCBS insured.
Two ways to measure your progress:
Use a pedometer to track steps/distance
Track physical activity in minutes
Run or Walk
Teams will compete for the most physical activity. All minutes convert to miles (please see the chart below). PRIZES:
- Top 10 teams with the most average miles per person will receive $25 gift card per person.
- Free pedometer for the first 200 who register
- Top 10 overall participants receive a Fitbit


Exercise Conversion:
Walking: 2000 steps = 1 mile, 15 minutes = 1 mile
Aerobic / Fitness Class: 181 steps/min.
Bicycling: 130 steps/min.
Dancing Class: 109 steps/min.
Hiking: 172 steps/min.
Swimming: 174 steps/min.
Running (12 minute mile): 178 steps/min.
Rowing Machine: 212 steps/min.
Yoga: 45 steps/min.
Pilates: 91 steps/min.
WalkingWorks is a Blue Cross Blue Shield online tracking platform, inviting you to move from "learning about" to "doing something about" your health. You can use time or miles to record your physical activity, then log and track individual progress on the interactive web portal.
Wellness Coordinators

Please submit your team names and any questions to your campus coordinator.

CFAP: Julie Williams: juwilliams@edkey.org

CFAT: Jevon Lewis: jlewis@edkey.org

Sequoia Charter Schools Horne Campus:
- Cedrick Woodard: cwoodard@edkey.org
- Renee Harper: rharper@edkey.org
- Madeline Smith: masmith@edkey.org
- Anna Rienstra: arienstra@edkey.org
- Debbi Mills: dmills@edkey.org
- Tomara Espinosa: tespinosa@edkey.org

ACAA HS/Elem: JD Lasswell: jlasswell@edkey.org, Anne Birr abirr@edkey.org

Pathfinder Academy: Tara Walton: twalton@edkey.org

Pathfinder Academy at Eastmark: Jessica Murillo: jmurillo@edkey.org

Sequoia Pathway Academy: Aurora Munoz: amunoz@edkey.org

AHA Cottonwood / Camp Verde: Austin Hudson: ahudson@edkey.org, Darrell White: dawhite@edkey.org

Sequoia Lehi: Mary Johnson: marjohnson@edkey.org

Sequoia Village: Kalman Mannis: kmannis@edkey.org

Star Performing Arts: Lynn McConnell: lmcconnell@edkey.org

Sequoia Choice Precision School: Killy Mims: kmims@edkey.org

George Washington Academy: Kathleen Danielson: kdanielson@edkey.org




Photos: